10/8/2019
A chart is a graphic that displays numeric data in a compact, visual layout and that reveals essential data relationships. You can add a chart to a form/report to visualize your data and make informed decisions. You can bind the chart to a table or query and customize the chart with a variety of properties. You can even make the chart interactive. For example, if you select a different category field on a form or report filter, you see different chart values. In Access, you can create column, line, bar, pie, and combo charts.
Note Having a problem displaying your chart? For more information, see Chart disappears when you add a Legend (Series) in the Chart Settings pane.
Combo chart: a clustered column chart of yearly home sales and line chart of monthly average price
Create a chart
The essential steps to creating a chart in Access are:
Beginning steps
, select a chart type, and then drop it on the form or report. For more information, see Choose the best chart type for your needs.The Chart Settings pane opens and a sample diagram is displayed in the Form Design grid.
Use control handles
to resize a chart or reposition the chart by dragging it
Use the Chart Settings pane to configure the chart's data source, select the Axis (Category), Legend (Series) and Values (Y Axis) fields, and format the chart.
Data settings
By default, the sample diagram is replaced with a live chart that uses the first two fields in the data source as the Axis (Category) and Values (Y axis) dimensions. Often the first column in a table is a primary key, and you may not want to use that as a dimension in a chart. The chart property, Preview Live Data, controls whether you see live data.
Tip if your data source has many fields, you may find it easier to create a query that limits the fields to just the ones you want so you can simplify the field selections.
This chart dimension shows horizontal values in an XY chart layout in a clustered column and line chart, and vertical values in a clustered bar chart.
|
Clustered column chart axis |
Line chart axis |
Clustered bar chart axis |
The default aggregation of a date field is Months. To change it, click the down arrow and select from the list, including None to remove the aggregation.
When you select more than one Axis (Category) field, it creates a hierarchy of tick marks along the dimension line (such as States within a Division).
This chart dimension pivots field values into column headings. For example, values in a State field are transposed as column headings and each becomes a separate data series.
This chart dimension shows vertical values in an XY chart layout in a clustered column and line chart, and horizontal values in a clustered bar chart.
|
Clustered column chart values |
Line chart values |
Clustered bar chart values |
Each field you select corresponds to a data series. When you select two or more Values (Y axis) fields, you can’t select a Legend (Series) field. The Values (Y axis) fields become the legend by default.
By default, each selected field is aggregated. For numeric and currency fields, the default aggregation is Sum. For all other fields, the default aggregation is Count. To change the aggregation, click the down-arrow, and select from the list, including None to remove the aggregation.
Note Text fields must use the Count aggregation. All selected Values (Y axis) fields must either be aggregated or nonaggregated.
Notes Different field combinations are possible, but consider the following:
Format settings
Each data series has a unique set of properties
Note Avoid confusing this property with the Chart Type property in the chart property sheet.
Important considerations
Aggregation Although the data source often begins as a set of nonaggregated data, as you create a chart, by default Access creates aggregate calculations, such as Sum, Count, and Average, on fields to help simplify the number of data series. However, you can remove the default aggregate calculations by selecting None in the drop-down list. This process of selecting fields and choosing aggregations creates a SELECT, SQL GROUP BY, or TRANSFORM statement that is stored in the Transformed Row Source property. To see the statement, right-click the property and select Zoom. The following is a summary of the three main possibilities:
SELECT [Segment], [Sales] FROM [Orders]
SELECT [Segment], Sum([Sales]) AS [SumOfSales FROM [Orders] GROUP BY [Segment] ORDER BY [Segment]
TRANSFORM Sum([Sales]) AS [SumOfSales] SELECT [Segment] FROM [Orders] GROUP BY [Segment] ORDER BY [Segment] PIVOT [State]
For more information, about data aggregation, see Make summary data easier to read by using a crosstab query.
Properties To further customize the chart, select Design > Property Sheet > <Chart name>, which displays all the chart-related properties. Press F1 on each property to get help on that property. When you modify a property in the Property sheet, the corresponding value changes in the Chart Settings pane and vice versa.
There are many Format properties unique to charts. you can use these to format axes values, titles, and the chart. There are also several Data properties unique to charts, including Preview Live Data, Transformed Row Source; Chart Axis, Chart Legend, and Chart Value.
Adding a secondary vertical axis When you create a chart, there is usually a primary vertical axis, but you can add a secondary vertical axis when data varies widely or to plot different measures, such as price and volume. The scale of the secondary vertical axis shows the values for its associated data series. To add a secondary vertical axis, use the Plot Series On property on the Format tab of the Chart Settings pane.
Adding a trend line For numeric data, you may want to add a trend line to show data tendencies. You can use the Trend Line and Trend Line Name options on the Format tab of the Chart Settings pane.
Modify the chart To modify a chart, open the form or report in Design or Layout view, and then select the chart which opens the Chart Settings pane. To switch to a different chart type, select a different chart from the Chart Type property drop-down list. You can also change any single chart to a Combo chart by changing the Chart Type property on the property sheet (and not the Format tab of the Chart Settings pane).
Refresh source data To refresh chart data, switch to form or report view, select the chart, and then select Refresh All (or press F5).
Chart Settings If the Chart Settings pane is closed, make sure the chart is selected, and then select Design > Chart Settings.
Classic chart Avoid confusing the new chart
, which is based on modern technology, with the classic chart
, which is an ActiveX Control. However, you can still use the classic chart and even add it to a form or report that has the new chart.
Link a chart to the data on a form or report
To make a chart interact with the data on a form or report, bind the chart to the same data source as the form or report. Then set a matching field for the Link Child Fields and Link Master Fields data properties of the chart.
in either the Link Child Fields or Link Master Fields property box.The Subform Field Linker dialog box appears.
If you are not sure which field to use, click Suggest for recommendations.
Choose the best chart type for your needs
The following sections provide background information about charts and help you decide which chart to use.
A chart is a graphic that displays numeric data in a compact, visual layout and that reveals essential data relationships. A chart has many elements. Some of these elements are displayed by default, others can be added as needed. You can change the display of the chart elements by resizing them or by changing the format. You can also remove chart elements that you do not want to display. The following diagram shows the basic chart elements.
In Access, you can create column, line, bar, pie, and combo charts. This section explains each chart and its best-use scenarios.
Column
In a column chart, categories display along the horizontal axis (Axis (Category) property) and values display along the vertical axis (Values (Y axis) property). Typically, you choose one field for the Axis (Category) dimension and one or more fields for a Values (Y axis) dimension, each of which becomes a Data Series. If you choose more than one field for an Values (Y axis) dimension, consider plotting along a separate Axis.
Access supports three types of column charts.
|
Chart |
Description |
|
|
|
Clustered Column |
Uses vertical columns to compare values across horizontal categories. Often used for a range of values (item counts), scales (survey ratings), and names (places or people). |
|
|
Stacked Column |
Similar to a clustered column chart but shows two or more data series in each column. Often used to show the relationship of the data series to the whole. |
|
|
100% Stacked Column |
Similar to a stacked column chart, but the column values add up to 100%. Often used to compare the percentages that each data series contributes to the whole. |
Line
In a line chart, categories are distributed evenly along the horizontal axis (Axis (Category) property) and values are distributed evenly along the vertical axis (Values (Y axis) property). Typically, you choose one field for the Axis (Category) dimension and one or more fields for a Values (Y axis) dimension, each of which becomes a Data Series. If you choose more than one field for an Values (Y axis) dimension, consider plotting along a separate Axis.
Access supports three types of line charts.
|
Chart |
Description |
|
|
|
Line |
Displays continuous, evenly-distributed data along both axes to compare values over time. Often used to show trends at equal intervals, such as months, quarters, or fiscal years and to compare two or more data series. |
|
|
Stacked Line |
Similar to a line chart but shows two or more data series in each line. Often used to compare related trends. |
|
|
100% Stacked Line |
Similar to a stacked line chart but shows trends as a percentage over time. Often used to compare related trends to the whole of 100%. |
Note On the Format tab in the Chart Settings pane, the following properties are unique to Line charts: Line Weight, Dash Type, Missing Data Policy, and Marker Shape.
Tip If there are many categories or the values are approximate, use a line chart without markers.
Bar
In a bar chart, categories are organized along the vertical axis (Values (Y axis) property) and values are organized along the horizontal axis (Axis (Category) property). Bar charts reverse the normal placement of the axis and values dimensions. Typically, you choose one field for the Axis (Category) dimension and one or more fields for a Values (Y axis) dimension, each of which becomes a Data Series. If you choose more than one field for an Values (Y axis) dimension, consider plotting along a separate Axis.
Access supports three types of bar charts.
|
Chart |
Description |
|
|
|
Clustered Bar |
Uses horizontal bars to compare values across vertical categories. Often used when axis labels are long, or the values are durations. |
|
|
Stacked Bar |
Similar to a clustered bar chart but shows two or more data series in each bar. Often used to show the relationship of the data series to the whole. |
|
|
100% Stacked Bar |
Similar to a stacked bar chart, but the bar values add up to 100%. Often used to compare the percentages that each data series contributes to the whole. |
Pie
In a Pie chart, categories show as pie slices (Axis (Category) property). Data values (Values (Y axis) property) are summed as a percentage to a whole shown as the pie circle. Choose only one field for the Axis (Category) dimension and only one field for the Values (Y axis) dimension. Do not use the Legend (Series) field as the Axis (Category) field becomes the legend by default. On the Format tab in the Chart Settings pane, there is only one Data Series and only one property, Display Data Label. The colors used in the chart legend are set by default and can’t be changed.
Access supports one type of pie chart.
|
Chart |
Description |
|
|
|
Pie |
Shows the proportion of categories as a percentage to a whole. Best used for one data series of all positive values and less than ten categories. |
Combo
A Combo chart combines two or more chart types, such as a clustered column chart and a line chart, to explain different but related data.
Access supports a Combo chart in which you can combine any of the other single chart types and map each chart to a different data series. For example, map a clustered column chart to a data series of yearly home sales and a line chart to a data series of monthly average price by using the Data Series and Chart Type properties on the Format tab of the Chart Settings pane. You can also change any single chart to a Combo chart by changing the Chart Type property in the Data tab of the property sheet.
|
Chart |
Description |
|
|
|
Custom Combination |
Combines two different charts of your own choosing. |
Best Practices for creating Access charts
Use the following guidelines to help you create the chart that you want and that is easy to understand.
Chart disappears when you add a Legend (Series) in the Chart Settings pane
In certain instances, your chart may disappear. This can occur when the chart’s data source is based on a parameter query or when you use a value in a form control as criteria in the query. We are continuing to investigate to determine the best way to resolve this issue.
12/11/2025