Show, hide, delete channel in Microsoft Teams

11/5/2019


Choose your vision: Desktop | iOS | Android

Desktop

You've got some viewing options for teams and channels. Here are more details.

Show a team or channel

When you join a new team, it's automatically shown in your teams list. If you know you're a member of a team but don't see it, scroll to the bottom of your teams list and select Hidden teams, find the team you're looking for select More options  > Show.

Hide a team or channel

If you don't want a team or channel to show in your teams list, hide it. Go to a team or channel name and select More options  > Hide. This is a great way to clean up your list and focus on the teams and channels you're active in.

You can also show channels from the hidden channels menu beneath the channels list of a team. Select More options  > Show.

Note: To help get you up and running, Teams automatically shows the five most popular channels in every new team you join.

Delete a channel in Teams

Team owners get to decide which team members can delete and restore channels.

Tip: If you’re considering deleting a channel because you’re being inundated by notifications about new messages, you can instead just turn off notifications.

To delete a channel, go to the channel name and click More options  > Delete this channel.

Keep in mind that once you delete a channel, you also lose its entire conversation history. However, the OneNote sections associated with that channel will still show up on your team's SharePoint site.

Customize channel notifications in Teams

If you want to adjust or fine tune the notifications you're getting from a channel, here's how:

Go to the channel name and select More options  > Channel notifications. This allows you to get notified of channel activity. 

From there you can choose where and what notifications you want to get.

Banner and feed will send notifications to your device and to Activity at the top left of the Teams app. Feed will skip sending notifications to your desktop and will only show up in your activity feed.

Want fewer notifications from a channel? You can turn them off from here as well.

Below are the different types of settings you'll find in channel notifications:

  • All new posts will notify you each time someone starts a new conversation in the channel
  • Include all replies will notify you any time someone replies to a conversation
  • Channel mentions will notify you whenever someone @mentions the channel

FYI, Reset to default will turn on notifications for each item and will notify you in your activity feed and send desktop banner notifications.

To further customize your notification settings, see Manage notifications in Teams.

 

 

 

iOS

When you join a new team, it's automatically shown in your teams list. If you know you're a member of a team but don't see it, scroll to the bottom of your teams list and select See all teams.

Show a channel

Tap Teams  and go to the bottom of the team list. Tap See all teams, then tap the team the channel is in and tap the circle next to the channels you want shown. To hide, tap the circle again to deselect it.

Note: To help get you up and running, Teams automatically shows the five most popular channels in every new team you join.

Follow a channel

Tap Teams  and choose a channel. In the channel header, tap Follow  and select Follow channel.

Delete a channel

Go to the desktop or web app to delete a channel.

 

 

 

Android

When you join a new team, it's automatically shown in your teams list. If you know you're a member of a team but don't see it, scroll to the bottom of your teams list and select See all teams.

Show a channel

Tap Teams  and go to the bottom of the team list. Tap All teams, then tap the team the channel is in and tap the circle next to the channel you want to show.

Note: To help get you up and running, Teams automatically shows the five most popular channels in every new team you join.

Follow a channel

Tap Teams   and choose a channel. In the channel header, tap Follow   and select Follow channel.

Delete a channel

Tap Teams  , go to the team name, and tap More options  > Manage channels. Then tap More options  next to the channel name and select Delete channel.